01227 463567

Governing Body

As the Chair of Governors and as a parent, I am delighted to welcome you to the Simon Langton Governors’ page.

For many years now, the school has been recognised as ‘Outstanding’ by Ofsted – this is a remarkable achievement by everyone involved.  As a Governing Body, we are working alongside the Senior Leadership Team to ensure that we maintain this level of performance and commit to continually improving the learning outcomes whilst providing an environment where all our students flourish. Despite the challenges and obstacles encountered as a result of the COVID 19 pandemic, we are proud of the work the school does in our local community, developing key partnerships with local primary schools and helping the students in our community to obtain a love of learning and maintain curiosity.  We are a forward-thinking school that embraces innovation and new opportunities to provide an outstanding, progressive and well-rounded education. If you would like to hear more about our work please do contact me directly.

Dr G Scarfe

The purpose of the Governing Body of the Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys is to:

  • ensure the school has a clear vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent

Governors meet as a Full Board at least 3 times a year and are also members of Committees. The Committees include:

  • Pastoral and Guidance Committee
  • Resource Committee
  • Standards & Assessment Committee
  • Learning & Development Committee

List of Governors

Co-opted by the Full Governing Body:

Dr G Scarfe (Chair)

Mrs L Illsley

Mr E Ludlow

Mr G Conlon

Mrs C Larbey

Mr S Ranadive

Mrs B Farrell

Mr M Jones-Roberts

Appointed by the Foundation:

Mr P Addis

Mr R Silk

Revd Canon A Dodd

Mr J Watson

Appointed by the LEA:

Dr F Rehal

Parent Governors:

Mr D Agnew

Mrs J Coomber

Dr J Long

Mrs A Taylor

Mr B De Berry

Mr R Lewis


Mr K Moffat


Dr S Passfield

Further information can be found by clicking on the following links:

Instrument of Government

Structure of the Governing Body

Governors and their terms of office

Governors and Committees

Governors Allowances

Register of Business Interests 2020-21

Meetings Register

Privacy Notice for Governors

For copies of minutes, please contact the clerk